World Plumbing Day

WPC 2013

Water For Life

SARS Symposium



World Plumbing Council


Releasing of UPC-I 2011 at the worthy hands of Mr. GP Russ Chaney, Chairman – World Plumbing Council. Also seen in the picture (L to R): Mr. BSA Narayan, Vice President – Indian Plumbing Association (IPA), Ms. Megan Lehtonen, Director of Business Development – IAPMO Group, Mr. Sudhakaran Nair, President – Indian Plumbing Association & Dy. Chairman – World Plumbing Council, Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Sree Kumar, Director General – IAPMO India, Mr. M K Gupta, Chairman – IPA New Delhi Chapter, Mr. C S Prasad, Director General – Central Public Works Department and Mr. C S Gupta, Hon. Secretary – Indian Plumbing Association.


Indian Plumbing Association (IPA) has forged an alliance with International Association of Plumbing & Mechanical Officials (IAPMO) to launch Uniform Plumbing Code-India (UPC-I). The first UPC-I was launched in 2008.

The main objective behind the launch of UPC-I is to standardize and upgrade plumbing practices in the country. The codes discussed in the UPC-I were largely appreciated by the Indian plumbing fraternity and were used in implementing various plumbing practices as industry-codes. These codes eventually helped in setting plumbing standards and are accepted by the plumbing industry, across the country.

As a process of continued refinement and upgradation, the codes of UPC-I 2008 were re-studied and evaluated by the Technical Committee, appointed by IPA under the Chairmanship of IPA President Mr. Sudhakaran Nair with Mr. BSA Narayan as its Convener. This Technical Committee is consisting of distinguished plumbing professionals from across the country. With exhaustive deliberation, month-after-month, IPA’s Technical Committee brought-out a revised and enlarged version of the codes – 2011 Uniform Plumbing Code-India.

2011 UPC-I was released at the worthy hands of Mr. GP Russ Chaney, Chairman of World Plumbing Council (WPC) & CEO, IAPMO during 15th Indian Plumbing Conference in New Delhi, on November 18, 2011. This gracious launch ceremony of the codes took place in the esteemed presence of Mr. Sudhakaran Nair, President-IPA & Deputy Chairman-WPC; Mr. BSA Narayan, Convener of Technical Committee & Vice President - IPA; Ms. Megan Lehtonen; Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Sree Kumar; Mr. M K Gupta, Chairman – IPA Delhi Chapter; Mr. C S Prasad, Director General – Central Public Works Department, New Delhi and Mr. C S Gupta, Hon. Secretary – IPA, New Delhi.

Like the 2008 edition, these revised codes are also bound to gain wider acceptance by the Indian plumbing industry. This would, obviously, result into further upgradation of plumbing practices in India.

© 2014 World Plumbing Council